Sometimes e-mail can be a beautiful thing (or ‘instant encouragements from Norway’)

1 item in e-mail inbox

I hate e-mail as much as the next person. Possibly more. Nothing sucks the fun from my day like an inbox full of e-mails. Most of them unnecessary, all of them time-consuming, and the important ones somehow exerting a kryptonite-like power over me, meaning I go for weeks at a time with my starred inbox gradually growing, until I finally break down under the pressure to reply.

And I’m pretty sure we can blame e-mail for the creation of the ‘word’ LOL.

But occasionally I get an e-mail that makes me realise the struggle to keep the inbox clear is worth it.  Yesterday I got just such an e-mail.

It was from my Norwegian friend Simen, who is, it must be said, a master of the encouraging e-mails.

They come out of the blue. No warning. No polite pre-ample. No awkward apologies for not e-mailing sooner. No ‘are they rhetorical or should I answer them?’ opening questions. Just straight into some great soul-stirring chat.

And it made me think: what if I were more pro-active in using my e-mail? What if I took the fight to the inbox? What if I decided to e-mail people who I don’t get to see now because of the distance, and just share some encouraging thoughts I’d had that morning?

Because isn’t that the beauty of e-mail? Sure like the Uruk-hai it has become this dark and twisted beast, but originally it had the grace and happy charm of an elf. Or something . . . my point is this:

E-mail can be a beautiful thing, and I am incredibly grateful for it, and for those who use it to encourage me to keep on keeping on.

2 thoughts on “Sometimes e-mail can be a beautiful thing (or ‘instant encouragements from Norway’)

  1. Anonymous

    I guess it is like every other invention it is neutral neither good nor bad but in a Christians hands or rather fingers it is a great tool to share the Goodnews of Gods love and cheer son his followers.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Fighting crows with cheddar (or how common grace helps me deal with culture stress). | Reversed Thunder

Leave a Reply. Go on!

